Excuses adults can’t give

Some excuses you can’t give anymore

Aayu Kharbanda
2 min readSep 18, 2021

Adulting is a process that starts around the age of 18 and keeps on going as we age. We keep learning new things and we gain more control over ourselves. One such control forbids us from making certain excuses.

The Excuse

“I was feeling X hence I did Y “

For example

I was feeling angry hence I used inappropriate language

I was feeling sad hence I didn’t show up for the party

I was feeling jealous hence I insulted that person

I was feeling confident hence I made an impractical claim etc.

Why we can’t?

A baby doesn’t know if it is hungry, in pain, or just needs attention — it cries for all of them. A teenager faces a big burst of emotions for the first time and is overwhelmed by the possibilities. A young adult (18–25 years) has finally found some stability in its emotional chaos and starts to understand its emotions better.

We have experienced almost the entire range of emotions by the time we turn 18. We are expected to know how to act rationally and not emotionally as we grow older after 18. This realistic expectation is the reason why grown adults rarely say “I was feeling X hence I did Y”.

Call to Action

Being overpowered by your own emotions is a miserable situation to be in. There is a simple way to deal with it. Instead of future regrets do this change in the present

“I am feeling X right now and It is Y “

For example

I am feeling angry right now and It is a provocative feeling

I am feeling sad right now and It is a dull feeling

Conclusion

Emotions just need to be acknowledged. Just speak to your emotion and say Yes, I know you are there and I understand how I feel. But I will choose to do this instead of what my emotion is asking me to do.

--

--

Aayu Kharbanda

An ambitious guy trying to disrupt education industry.